John Mack Foundation Awarded Broome County Agency of the Year by SREMS Council

The Susquehanna Regional Emergency Medical Services (SREMS) Council presented the John Mack Foundation with the Broome County EMS Agency of the Year on December 1, 2017 at their annual holiday dinner. The award recognizes John Mack Foundation’s contribution and outstanding service to EMS and the Susquehanna Region.

SREMS Award Placque

In presenting the award, Raymond Serowik, the Emergency Medical Services Coordinator for the Broome County Office of Emergency Services, said,

“Public access defibrillation has existed in New York State since Governor Pataki signed the enabling bill into law in 1998. Since then, we have seen the inauguration of hundreds of PAD (Public Access Defibrillation) programs across our region, many of which have facilitated the survival of at least one victim of sudden cardiac arrest (SCA) each.


Born out of the tragic loss of a young student athlete to SCA in 2006, the John Mack Foundation has promoted the cause of cardiac arrest survival in Broome County and beyond through the provision of AEDs to community organizations (especially those dealing with young athletics), churches, private schools, places of public gathering and even a number of first response agencies.


The Foundation has established a cycle of fundraising through events that raise awareness of the danger posed by SCA to persons of all ages, and of the need to counter that danger through preparedness, and then using those funds to purchase and provide AEDs where they will protect many lives.


We’d like to use this opportunity to recognize and commend the John Mack Foundation for its work of over 10 years, which has unquestionably helped to make our community a better and safer place to be.”

Robert Mack, President, and Kim Robinson, Community Outreach Coordinator, accepted the award.

SREMS Award Acceptance

Left to right: Kim Robinson, Robert Mack, Raymond Serowik

The Susquehanna Regional EMS Council assists the Regional EMS Council and the New York State Department of Health to support and develop regional EMS systems and covers Broome, Chenango and Tioga Counties. It is one of seventeen EMS Program Agencies in the State.